top of page

It all started with a book...


With Doc Henley, author and founder of Wine to Water

As many freshman entering college, the idea of how I would be spending the next four years was a bit blurred. While I had an interest to pursue advertising as a career, the passion for it and long term use had not yet been developed. Without being aware at the time, I discovered what I am passionate for in my first day of college orientation. My college journey begin with a book, Wine to Water. This book had been selected as the Common Reading Book for all freshman entering college to read that academic year, therefore it was given out at orientation as students walked in to have it read by the first day of classes. I remember jokingly saying to myself, “Here we go, haven’t even picked my classes yet and I already have homework.” Later on that day, with the enthusiasm to avoid procrastination on my first day, I began reading the book that has since shaped my college experience.

With Doc Henley, author and fonder of Wine to Water

Wine to Water introduced me to an issue that continues to shape my studies: The lack of clean water and its effects on people and the environment. Having learned about the deathly consequences that come with inadequate access to clean water, my interests begin to shift and with some classmates who are now friends, we begin a campus chapter to spread more awareness about this issue. While I had been involved in extracurricular activities in high school, a college club was much different -- we were given funds to carry out events, and ample freedom to steer the direction of the club in any way we wanted. As president, I came to learn the importance of building a team, and not simply having a group of people to carry out a common goal. This proved to be especially important when we decided to serve abroad with Wine to Water, which is also a non-profit organization.). With this club, I was also able to learn about the multiple roles that water plays in health, education, agriculture, and in the economy. Prior to learning about these roles, I interpreted the previous sectors as independent of one another, without acknowledging the impact they have on one another. Thus, interconnectivity has been a major take away from serving in this organization, as it has empowered me to seek a career in learning how the management of water can be improved to secure its access, especially for the use of those who lack the basic amount to carry every day activities.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page