top of page

Campus engagement

One of my favorite parts about being part of the Global Civic Engagement advisory board is that I was a recipient of its grants before being a member. GCE is a student led program funded by Wells Fargo for students to complete service projects locally, nationally, and abroad. In preparation for Wine to Water’s service trip to the Dominican Republic, I applied for a grant to provide ceramic water filters to the community we would be serving. Once approved, I completed an exit interview with the board and learned more about their mission to encourage students to be civically engaged. As soon as they had an opening, I applied and was later on admitted. Serving in the board has not only taught me about the extensive process of grant applications and the importance of clarity in detail, but about the eager student body at FIU that is dedicated to service. The opportunity to review and oversee different projects has exposed me to the diversity in service and the different perspective that comes from funding the projects.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page